Hold me While I’m Naked (1966)

“Hold me While I’m Naked”, is another film from the New York 1960’s experimental movie scene.  I have yet to see any one of these films that particularly impressed me and this movie is no real exception.   It does hold my interest more than others of the same ilk, but that maybe due to its short 17-minute running time, or due to its erotic nature.   It is not a great example of cinematic art, but does succeed in getting its message across.  That message being the loneliness of sexual frustration.    An issue I have with the film is that this message could be interpreted to somehow justify sexual harassment that actresses constantly face from their directors in the movie industry.    The story deals with a movie director, played by the film’s actual director, George Kuchar, directing his own small, and experimental movie and having professional and emotional issues with his main actress. I guess you can say that this is the experimental movie industries version of,” 8 and a half”, as it shows a movie directors problems and hints that we are watching the actual final movie from the so called plot of the story.   Kuchar’s character is directing a film with two main actors, in which the main actress has issues with the nude scenes she is asked to perform.  This causes the director to have a sexual obsession with her, and while he watches her make out with the other actor, as well as with her boyfriend.   If a short movie about sexual frustration is of interest to you, then take a look at this short film.   For me, I could think of at least 100 better ways to pass 17 minutes of my life. 

Leave a comment